Categories: Marketing

Social Media content that’s proven to increase your audience is the use of Questions in the form of a Quiz.

A Quiz almost always draws in a diverse base of viewers based on the Quiz content. Besides being entertaining, Quizzes give you - the marketer - an insight into your reader base. Depending on how unique the Quiz is - it can go viral, increase followers and ultimately revenue.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

A few things businesses and Brands shouldn’t be doing on Social Media:

#1: Offering Up Sub-Par Customer Service

Social Media translates to immediate engagement. People often post questions, complaints and concerns online - rather than calling and sitting on hold waiting for a sales representative. When online inquiries and audience concerns are ignored or you take days to answer, they'll likely just move on to another Brand to do business with.

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Categories: Design,Marketing

What Is Google Maps Marketing?

Google Maps marketing is utilizing Google Map functions to allow your business to be found easily by those performing a search.

Big businesses are expected to be found immediately on Google Maps, but small businesses can leverage Google Maps to their benefit with strategic optimization for both search result positioning and visibility.

As a small to mid size business owner – your goal is to push for the highest placement possible within local business Google Map results, as well as on related search engine result pages.

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Categories: Email Marketing

#1: Send Special Code Emails

Segment your Email list subscribers according to age group, interests, buying history, etc. Make your marketing Emails motivational to your readers by sending each segment a Hidden Discount or a Unique Promo Code that requires them to Click Through to your website to see what they’ve won.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

A Blog that’s regularly updated with new content will compliment your business website and also:

  • Give insight into your business and what your expertise is.
  • Encourage people to visit every day to see what’s new.
  • Attract New Buying Customers.
  • Increase more traffic to your website.
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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Engagement Defined

Engagement is more about the level of involvement with your Brand content rather than about the size of your cumulative audience.

Engagement rates on any social media channel is basically the measure of how loyal your followers are to you and your business.

Engagement Parameters

Key elements for tracking Engagement are:

  • Followers
  • Comments
  • Share and Reposts

How Important is Engagement?

Instagram uses Engagement as a metric to calculate where your content appears in a followers feed. The Engagement metric reflects follower activity and interaction. Instagram translates Engagement as a sign that followers want to see more of your content, resulting in a higher placement level in their feeds.

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Categories: Marketing

As a Local or Online business, spreading Brand awareness is one of the top elements of your marketing strategy – with the end goal being to bring in new customers, readers, users, followers, subscribers, etc.

Extending your reach through as many online platforms as possible provides additional visibility for your Brand, while increasing your business profile in search engine results when mobile and local queries are performed.

Registering your Profile with consistent information across all platforms and listing sites allows search engines to display your business in their search results based upon specific keyword searches related to your services/products.

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Categories: Email Marketing

Traditional and non-traditional year round Holidays are an opportunity providing a never-ending loop for content to include in your newsletters.

Research shows 90% of people like to receive promotional Emails from businesses they buy from, so Holidays are a great way to engage your list with teasers and subtle promotions all year round.

Be sure to maximize your audience by proactively building your list from all channels:

  • On your Website
  • At Events and In-Store
  • Through Blogs
  • On Social Media Channels
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Categories: Marketing

What Is Google Optimize?

Google Optimize is a free A/B testing and personalization Google tool that allows website owners to set up experiments and discover what works best on their sites. Google Optimize offers a free version, and a paid version named 360 Optimize.

Per the Google Blog:

"People want compelling and relevant digital content that's delivered at just the right moment. That's why Google Optimize is making changes to help businesses deliver better, more personalized experiences to your customers. Now, in addition to running short-term website experiments with Optimize, you can create custom website experiences that deliver the right message to your customers—every time they visit your site.

Optimize has always helped you test which version of your site works best for your customers. Now it’s even easier for you to immediately launch the winning version of your site with just a few clicks.

Say you’ve run an A/B test on your site and Optimize has determined the winning version. You can now simply click “DEPLOY LEADER,” and Optimize will re-create the winning version of your site as a new personalization that you can launch to any segment of your customers.

You can also create personalized experiences without running a test first. For instance, you might want to offer a special like free shipping to all customers in San Francisco.

Launching a personalization from scratch is now simple in Optimize. First, click the “Create Experience” button and select “Personalization” as the experience type. Using the Optimize Visual Editor, you can add the free shipping offer to your site. Then, select “users located in San Francisco” and launch the personalization."

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Categories: Design,Marketing

Everyone’s jumped on the “Brand Reputation” bandwagon the past few years … and with good reason.

It’s important to know what people are saying about your business, products and services.

  • Is someone using unauthorized images of your products on their website?
  • Is someone bad-mouthing you and your company?
  • Is someone using your photo on social media without your knowledge?
  • Has someone left a negative review?
  • Has a Blogger mentioned you in their post?

Wouldn’t it be nice to receive alerts each time your Brand name is being searched or mentioned?

Fee based subscription Reputation monitoring tools are useful and sometimes absolutely necessary to protect your Brand. If you don’t subscribe to a monitoring service yet – you may want to try out these Free monitoring tools.

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Categories: Design,Marketing

What are Backlinks?

Backlinks are any link on or in a website page pointing (linking) to your website.

Back in the day, link exchanges were a common way to build backlinks to and from websites. People started building site highways and interconnecting them with hundreds, and in some cases – thousands - of reciprocal links that lead to Google dropping the proverbial hammer.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Check out these 7 Tips for Growing Your Business Facebook Organic Reach. Here is the first:

#1 – Post and Schedule Consistent Content

Facebook can become a direct line of communication between you and your audience. When people begin to view you as an authority in your niche, the information you post will begin forming a connection your viewers will count on. They’ll share and like your posts more frequently.

Create a weekly schedule for your Facebook posts and stick to it. Include images, and video when possible. Take advantage of holidays and events to post personal and business related content.

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Categories: Marketing

Definition : Search Operator

A Search Operator (or search parameter) is a character or string of commands and characters used in a search engine query to narrow the focus of the search.

Using Search Operators help you search quickly for information plus can find information to assist with SEO, identify errors that may exist on your site, and may also reveal information about competitor websites and activity.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

What is Snapchat?

Snap, Inc states they are “a camera company”.

“We believe that reinventing the camera represents our greatest opportunity to improve the way people live and communicate. We contribute to human progress by empowering people to express themselves, live in the moment, learn about the world, and have fun together”.

Snapchat allows users to capture and send “Snaps” which are only viewable for a set duration between 1 to 10 seconds before they automatically delete, or with no time limitation until they are closed by the recipient.

Snapchat users have an option to save specific snaps on a private storage area with the “Memories” feature. Users can see locations on a map where other people make their snaps.

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Categories: Email Marketing

For many businesses the holiday season can dictate over 50% of their entire years’ revenue.

Planning is important.

A solid strategy is important.

Hardcore planning of Holiday marketing should begin in June. You’ll want a strategy in place by the time September rolls around. Cultivating your Email subscribers year-round is doubly important because if you’ve spent time growing your list you should have a good base of customers ready to buy from you come holiday season.

If you’re playing catch-up and it’s later in the season than you’d like, there are still a few holiday email marketing strategies you can put into place.

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Categories: Social Media

Using custom Facebook Frames will give a unique twist for your business page and/or to share images with your followers. Great to use for personalizing profile photos, page photos and for business event frames.

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Categories: Marketing

You may or may not be familiar with the Google Keyword Planner tool, formerly known as the Google Keyword Tool. There was a time the Google Keyword Tool was accessible under its own URL and free to use for everyone, however in June of 2016 – Google rolled the Google Keyword Tool under the umbrella of Google Adwords, restricting use only to those logged into an AdWords account.

If you’re already registered with Google Ads (Adwords), then you most likely are familiar with how to use the Google Keyword Planner to research keywords, search volume trends, platforms, competitors, locations, etc.

Here we’ll cover Tips for How to use the Google Keyword Planner tool for researching Keywords, and building Keyword Lists, without having to sign up for a funded Ads (Adwords) account.

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Categories: Design

Linking Adwords to Analytics allows you to see metrics such as pages per visit, percentage of new visits, average visit duration, and bounce rate - all within the AdWords interface.

You'll discover which keywords generate visits and the length of time spent on those visits. If people are spending ten seconds on a page, and others are spending three minutes on another page - then it's a flag indicating you'll want to adjust either your keyword(s) or the landing page.

Linking Adwords to Analytics will give you insights for re-allocation of your marketing budget based on conversion and performance metrics.

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Categories: Mobile

Google is concentrating on Mobile-First Indexing, and change is here.

Google will calculate what it places in their index based on the mobile version of your website. In contrast, they used to index the desktop website version first.

This change has come about due to the elevated number of searches coming from mobile devices. Google has stated that to give users a better experience, they've decided to prioritize mobile results.

Bottom line - what this means is, website owners need to ensure their websites are mobile friendly. If you already have a responsive design for your site, then you shouldn’t be affected.

If you have different websites for desktop and for mobile, and your mobile site has far less content, then you will most likely be affected.

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Categories: Marketing

In theory, you have to Spend $$ to Make $$. Most often it’s easier to say than do.

The challenge of small business owners is knowing how best to invest funds in a manner that actually generates a return on their investment – rather than just spending for the sake of spending.

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Categories: Email Marketing

What is Drip Marketing?

Drip marketing is considered a specific Email communication strategy that ‘drips’ (sends) a set of pre-written messages to customers / prospects over a period of time.

What is a Drip Marketing Campaign?

An Email Drip Campaign is a series of scheduled marketing Emails based on behavior and or actions. Emails are scheduled to be sent out automatically and become increasingly more of a promotional nature.

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Categories: Design,Marketing

Google is trying to make sure that the web sites you visit are secure. That’s why in July, their Chrome browser (version 68) will start marking sites without an SSL (security certificate) as Not Secure. To make sure the 75% of web users who use Chrome don’t see your site as Not Secure, you need to buy and install a security certificate. Just email support@hostingct.com for assistance.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

A LinkedIn Business page serves several purposes:

  • Allows a Business to tell their story.
  • Allows a Business to Educate others on their Services and Products.
  • Allows a Business to Individualize themselves against their Competitors.
  • Allows for Engagement with prospects, customers and employee candidates.
  • Allows a Business to Network and build Referral relationships for Sales Leads.
  • Allows a Business to Create a Public Image on an International scale.
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Categories: Email Marketing

Your email subject line will often determine whether or not anyone will actually read your message.In order to make the email stand out, keep your subject line short, specific, and personalized.

For many – the Email Subject Line isn’t a priority, and many write their Subject Line after the content is ready to go … we suggest you write your Subject Line first … then craft your message to the Subject Line. Keep it short, catchy, precise, and eliminate filler words as much as possible.

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Categories: Design,Marketing

What is a Conversion Rate?

Most commonly, the conversion rate is the number of conversions divided by the total number of visitors.

Example:
An e-commerce website logs 400 visitors per month and has 100 sales – the Conversion Rate would be 25%.
(100 divided by 400 = 25).

A conversion can refer to any specific action you want the visitor to take, and can include clicking a button, making a purchase or becoming a repeat customer.

What is Conversion Rate Optimization?

In internet marketing, conversion optimization, or conversion rate optimization (CRO) is a system for increasing the percentage of visitors to a website that convert into customers, or more generally, take any desired action on a webpage. It is commonly referred to as CRO. (Wikipedia definition)

Increasing your conversion rate increases overall profits for a business, so it’s crucial to optimize.

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Categories: Marketing

Branding is the process involved in creating a unique name and image for a product or service in the mind of the consumer.

Marketing is the promotion and sale of services and products, and a natural extension of your Brand.

Online Marketing allows far more opportunities than conventional business marketing because of additional channels and marketing platforms available on the Internet.

Your goal is to reinforce your Brand with marketing through Email, SEO, and Social Media to reach undiscovered customers where they spend time searching, reading, socializing and shopping.

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Categories: Social Media

Hootsuite is a posting and scheduling app to manage one or multiple social media profiles, posts and post scheduling. Just add posts, and Hootsuite will auto-process to your selected accounts. Extensions are available to work within Firefox, Chrome, Safari and Opera.

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Categories: Email Marketing,Marketing

Email Marketing is one of the best ways to reach your audience because it allows you to carve out a unique personal relationship with people that actually look forward to reading your newsletter each week. Websites and Social Media aren’t as good in cultivating this intangible connection.

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Categories: Email Marketing

It’s quite unbelievable just how many Emails are sent on a daily basis.

269 billion per day in 2017.

According to statistical data gathered and filtered by the Radicati Group in 2017, they estimated the number of Emails sent per day averaged over 269 billion, and would continue to escalate at an average rate of 4.4% over the next four years.

Before we get into techniques you can use to boost your Email newsletter open and conversion rates, let’s reflect on a few statistics:

Email Marketing

89% marketers said that email was their primary channel for lead generation. (Mailigen)

email marketing techniques

78% of consumers unsubscribe from emails because brands were sending too many emails. (Hubspot)

techniques for email marketing

Email list segmentation and personalized emailing were the most effective email strategies in 2017. (DMA)

Marketers have witnessed an increase of 760% in email revenue from segmented campaigns. (Campaign Monitor)

Transactional or triggered emails have 8x more opens and substantially greater revenue than regular bulk emails. (Experian)

Triggered email campaigns have an open rate of 45.70%, a click-through rate of 10.75% and click-to-open rate of 23.52%. The unsubscribe rate and spam rate are as low as 0.58% and 0.06% respectively. (GetResponse)

email marketing techniques

Welcome emails have on average 4 times the open rate and 5 times the click-through rate of a standard email marketing campaign. (InboxArmy)

Emails that include some sort of graphics have a higher open rate (26.89%) and higher click-through rate (4.36%) than that of text-based emails. (GetResponse)

email marketing

Personalized subject lines lift open rates by 29.3%. (MarketingSherpa)

email marketing techniques

Social sharing buttons in email increase click-through rates by 158%. (Sarv.com)

 

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

What Are Google Posts?

Rolled out to all businesses mid - 2017, Google My Business Posts are a feature within Google My Business that allows businesses to publish content directly to Google’s search results.

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Categories: Social Media

Deleting your Facebook account will permanently remove all of your personal data including photo albums, likes and timeline information.

  • You can't regain access once it's deleted.
  • Facebook delays deletion a few days after it's requested. A deletion request is cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time period, usually 14 days.
  • Facebook may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in their backup systems. Your information isn't accessible on Facebook during this time period.
  • Certain information, such as messaging history, isn't stored in your account. This means Friends may still have access to messages you sent after your account has been deleted.
  • Copies of some material such as log records may remain in the Facebook database but are disassociated from personal identifiers.
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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Launching in 2008 as a powerful Twitter social media tool, Social oomph has expanded to a fully featured posting and scheduling app that easily lets you manage one or multiple social media profiles, posts and post scheduling.

Social oomph currently supports Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Tumblr, App.net and Plurk, plus any Blog platform that has an XML-RPC remote publishing API. You can also automatically create social updates from RSS feed entries.

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Categories: Email Marketing

Videos catch the eye of viewers and compared to plain text, the attention of subscribers can be captured instantly.

Videos are able to swiftly convey a message, a service or a product with a visual impact not found in written words, and allows complex subject matter to translate easily.

Videos are able to quickly go viral, and your audience will react more positively after viewing and listening to a visual presentation.

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Categories: Marketing

Local Search has definitely evolved, and now plays a key role in mobile searches in relation to sales. Statistics shows that 72% of consumers that performed a Local search, ultimately visited a place of business with five miles of their location. (Wordstream)

78% of people who performed Local searches on mobile resulted in making an offline purchase. (Search Engine Land)

Local search indexing and first page results vary between Google and Bing, but each is important to pay attention to for SEO long-term plans. Google holds the larger market share, but Bing has a lasting foothold.

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Categories: Marketing

This dynamic marketing calendar makes it easy for you to plan out your message, timing and media, all in one place, and we're offering it to you free!  Download this super useful tool today and get planning!

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Categories: Email Marketing

There are many ways to grow your Email list - some you may already use, and some you may want to test out on your website and social media platforms to boost your subscribers.

Once you have new subscribers, it’s best practice to offer an easy method for them to opt-out from your list, just in case they change their mind. 

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Buffer is a posting and scheduling app to manage one or multiple social media profiles, posts and post scheduling. Just add posts and Buffer will auto-process to your selected social accounts. With this app, you can add content to Buffer from any website without signing in. Extensions are available to work within Firefox, Chrome, Safari and Opera.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Most marketers find it's a never ending challenge to keep their brand relevant while capturing the attention of their audience. With Video more prevalent now in social media than ever before - it's extremely important to use the correct social media video specifications and advertising video sizes. To avoid technical difficulties, and promote a positive user experience – note that each platform has it’s own set of video criteria.

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Categories: Social Media

The key to social media is to offer good, useful or funny content and to post it regularly to engage your audience.

Download our social media topics list and tips to help keep you on track when posting to your social media accounts. Always include a good photo or video. Remember, you don’t always have to create new content, sharing counts!

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

What is ORM – Online Reputation Management?
Quite simply, Online Reputation Management (ORM) is about influencing, controlling or restoring the good standing of an individual, group, business and/or Brand.

A Good Defense is a Great Offense
From the minute your website hits the internet - that’s the time to commit to a consistent schedule for online monitoring and building your brand deep and wide. Brand reputation management takes time and diligence.

If you don’t have time to do it yourself, then contract with a reputable source to perform the tedious tracking and monitoring steps involved. Identifying and nipping negative reviews / online comments in the bud is essential.

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Categories: Social Media

Awful images vs great images can be the difference between getting viewer attention, and being totally ignored.

Bringing attention to you and/or your brand is why you post on social media - so make your images work for you by making sure they're optimized using correct dimension and resolution criteria for each platform.

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Categories: Social Media

Awful images vs great images can be the difference between getting viewer attention, and being totally ignored.

Bringing attention to you and/or your brand is why you post on social media - so make your images work for you by making sure they're optimized using correct dimension and resolution criteria for each platform.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Awful images vs great images can be the difference between getting viewer attention, and being totally ignored.

Bringing attention to you and/or your brand is why you post on social media - so make your images work for you by making sure they're optimized using correct dimension and resolution criteria for each platform.

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Categories: Design,Social Media

Awful images vs great images can be the difference between getting viewer attention, and being totally ignored.

Bringing attention to you and/or your brand is why you post on social media - so make your images work for you by making sure they're optimized using correct dimension and resolution criteria for each platform.

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Categories: Design,Marketing,Social Media

Awful images vs great images can be the difference between getting viewer attention, and being totally ignored.

Bringing attention to you and/or your brand is why you post on social media - so make your images work for you by making sure they're optimized using correct dimension and resolution criteria for each platform.

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Categories: Social Media

How often do you leave online Reviews for companies you buy products and/or services from?

Learn here why it’s important for us to take the time to post online Reviews, and how to do them well.

Leaving Positive Reviews:

  • Are useful only when they’re relevant, trustworthy and useful.
  • Increases potential customer trust level.
  • Offers insight into a company’s customer service and products.
  • Allows businesses to reward their staff for a job well done, and the opportunity to look into areas needing improvement.

Did You Know:

  • Consumers trust Reviews only if it translates to them as authentic.
  • On average, 88% of online shoppers make a purchase decision based on Reviews.
  • On average, 84% of customers place the same level of trust in online Reviews as they do a personal recommendation.
  • Consumers say their primary motivation for leaving an online Review is to “help other people”.
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Categories: Design,Marketing

A Sitemap is a file containing a list of all your website's pages.

The Sitemap provides search engines with information about your site's pages, and can improve the ease for search engines to crawl and index. A Sitemap should be submitted each time you publish new changes to any page on your site you want indexed.

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Categories: Marketing

Once a month or so it’s good to check your most visited pages in Google Analytics. If you do regular Blog posts you should analyze to see which topics are most popular with your site visitors. If you sell products or services, you can track seasonal trends or find overall popularity for any given date range.

Analyzing your most visited pages helps you know what content is read often, so you can expand in that direction. Not sure how to find your website's most popular pages in Google Analytics? Let us show you how.

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Categories: Design

Google has always been a strong advocate in protecting user personal information. It wasn't a surprise when they announced in 2014 they'd be handing out a small ranking boost within their overall ranking algorithm to HTTPS sites utilizing an SSL Certificate.

Beginning October 2017, Google Chrome now labels HTTP sites as Insecure, warning the connection is not secure. This may cause visitors to click away from your website for fear their personal and location data are not secure.

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Categories: Marketing

What is Google Search Console?

Google Search Console is a free service offered by Google to help you monitor and optimize your site's presence in Google Search results.

The Search Console helps you:

  • Make sure that Google can access your content.
  • Submit new content for crawling and remove content you don't want shown in search results.
  • Create and monitor content that delivers visually engaging search results.
  • Maintain your site with minimal disruption to search performance.
  • Monitor and resolve malware or spam issues so your site stays clean.
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Categories: Design,Marketing

What is Google Analytics?

Launched in 2005, Google Analytics is a free service offered by Google providing website statistics and basic analytical tools for search engine optimization (SEO) and marketing purposes.

Google Analytics helps you understand your site and app user patterns to evaluate content and product performance.

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Categories: Social Media

When a person visits your Facebook page and clicks on your Cover Photo, the photo will open up to display a Description. 

When you first add a cover photo to your Facebook account, or whenever you change your cover photo, you have the ability to add text and html link codes (hyperlinks) to the Cover Photo Description.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

With Facebook frequently adding new options, you may want to evaluate your page and see if you’re utilizing Facebook to its fullest potential for your business.

Think back to when you first set up your Facebook Business page.

Did you build your Business page to evolve into a unique community?
Or did you build your Business page just because everyone said you had to have one for Social Media reach?
Do you add Valuable Content for your fan base?
Do you Start meaningful Conversations?
Do you Respond to fan Comments?

Most companies setting up a Facebook business page have the following goals in mind: Reach Targeted Audience, Build Brand Awareness, Create Brand Loyalty, Increase Traffic to Website, and Generate Leads that Convert to Sales

These goals can be realized by attending to your page with the attitude of building a Community. Adding value applicable to different segments of your audience, starting conversations, and posting a variety of content relevant to your business and brand, both on a professional and personal level - will all help to build a loyal Community.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

If you’ve been using Instagram for a while, you may not have used “Stories” before. It’s a nice element that comes with Instagram and allows you to add custom photos and short videos to share with your followers.

The Instagram Story function was released mid 2016 and is only visible on mobile devices. There’s a 24 hour availability window for Stories to run on Instagram, then they drop off, with a new 24 hour cycle of Stories appearing.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Enhance your Facebook Business Page with a Call-To-Action button and make it easy for clients / customers to start food orders, make a reservation, shop your products, book a hair appointment and so much more! Not sure how to configure your Facebook Call-To-Action Button? Check out our step by step directions.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

A Podcast is a series of audio or video recordings. 

A Podcast episode is one audio or video file from that series. The word 'Podcast' refers to a series of audio or video files, while a 'podcast episode' is one audio file from that series. 

Podcasts are similar to Radio shows and each Podcast series will have a specific theme. Each Podcast episode will talk about a particular subject in that theme. 

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Categories: Design,Marketing

SEO is not a one time quick fix.

SEO starts when a website is being created.

SEO is a forever task of consistent monitoring.

Effective SEO is strategy refinement using proven best practices.

Check out our SEO task schedule for websites displaying lackluster search result performance. All may not be applicable to your situation, but utilize as many tasks as necessary to ensure the foundation of your site is SEO ready.

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Categories: Email Marketing

Sometimes emails read as legitimate, but end up being purely a scam. Let us show you how we performed a bit of research and learned about a particular email scam has been circulating since at least 2008 and appears the scam is still going strong.

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Categories: Design

If you promote, endorse, sponsor, place affiliate links or testimonials on your Website, Blog or to Social Media - the FTC is becoming Real about cracking down on offenders to the Disclosure of Promoted Content issue.

It was in 2009 when the FTC initially released their Guideline relevant to the use of Online Endorsements and Testimonials. The intention was for Consumers to know when a Blogger, Affiliate or Celebrity was receiving any form of compensation from recommending a product to their audience.

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Categories: Design,Marketing

Using the Disavow Tool in Google and Bing

It’s recommended that website owners periodically perform a backlink audit of their site, because there are Good Backlinks and Bad Backlinks … if you don’t know who’s linking “to” your website – then you may be setting up your website for low search results. If you’re inexperienced with a deep, manual link audit, then it’s best to have a professional perform one every six months, or at the least – annually.

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Categories: Marketing,Mobile

Since Google announced they’ll be indexing mobile friendly sites first in their search results, here are a few tips of how to move your Blog or website nearer the top results. 

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Categories: Social Media

LinkedIn was launched in 2003, has over 500 million members in 200 countries as of April, 2017, and is touted as “the place” for B2B online connections, and uniquely allows you to present yourself as a Brand. 

Predominantly revolving around careers, LinkedIn allows users to share content and network with peers and professionals on all levels. Businesses small and large have found LinkedIn to be an essential piece of their marketing strategy, with case studies showing on average that LinkedIn drives the most customers to B2B companies.

Where B2B companies acquired customers:

LinkedIn at 65%
Their Own Company Blog at 55%
Facebook at 43%
Twitter at 40%

Learn more about Best Practices for Setting Up and Using LinkedIn

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Here are a few online tools to assist with content promotion that you may or may not be familiar with, and can be used in conjunction with your Social Media promotion efforts.

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Categories: Design

Conversion rates can be measured in a number of different ways on a website. Conversion rate goals differ from site to site, as it depends on what your website specific focus is.

Your conversion rate goal may be for:

  • signups to your newsletter
  • product sales
  • member registrations
  • ebook downloads
  • service inquiries

Any activity beyond simple page browsing is considered a conversion rate.

Using complimentary images along with your text can bring a webpage to life, and appeal to the perceived personalities of your shoppers. We’ve all heard “a picture is worth a thousand words” – and it is.

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Categories: Design

It’s interesting how Color is a factor in successful Branding, Recognition and Customer Sales.

 

What do the colors on your website tell visitors about You, and your products/services?

Have you ever placed a Poll on your site and asked people if they like and enjoy your website colors?

Have you ever encouraged your site visitors to send you their Comments and Opinions of your website color scheme?

Probably Not.

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Categories: Design

It’s interesting how Color is a factor in successful Branding, Recognition and Customer Sales.

What do the colors on your website tell visitors about You, and your products/services? Have you ever placed a Poll on your site and asked people if they like and enjoy your website colors? Have you ever encouraged your site visitors to send you their Comments and Opinions of your website color scheme?

Probably Not. Even though you may really like the colors on your website – maybe others don’t. Maybe they don’t stick around long enough to know what your site really offers, because the colors are a big turn-off to them.

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Categories: Design

Did you know that the first event to plant the seed for global communication was in 1957.

Who knew?

Read our timeline of amazing facts on the evolution of what we know as the Internet, as well as interesting year landmarks in Web Design protocol.

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Categories: Marketing,Mobile

As website owners, we need to alter our mindset from being “mobile compatible” to being mobile optimized”.

The process of Mobile Optimizing is making sure visitors accessing a site from their mobile devices and mobile platforms, experience both a visual and technical positive experience.

By all accounts, with Google being the kingfish of Search - as they historically hold the largest search-share market - we have to spend more time on making sure we “get it right” according to Google-specific criteria. Once that groundwork is seeded, the other search engine results will fall in place.

In 2013 Google announced it would be adjusting search rankings appearing on Smartphones and Mobile platforms based on how well a site managed the user experience.

In 2015 Google officially confirmed more Google searches took place on Mobile devices than on desktop computers and tablets in ten countries including the USA and Japan.

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Categories: Marketing

Negative SEO is defined as a person or entity can easily unleash a slew of below-the-belt tactics with the intent to decrease a website’s ranking in search engine results, and/or to ruin their online reputation. Learn more about the types of negative SEO that may affect your online presence and learn how to fix any issues that affect you.

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Categories: Marketing

A major challenge for small businesses selling their products and/or services to localized target markets is getting their name on the first page of Google using organic methods. For those of you wanting to optimize your website for maximum exposure within Local Search results in the Google search engine, we have a few suggestions for you.

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Categories: Marketing

In the first 3 steps in this series, we’ve discussed how to create a website that people actually want to spend time on, what actions you want them to do while they are there, and how to get them there in the first place. In our final step, let’s talk about what to do with those conversions, once you have them, to actually increase your sales.

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Categories: Marketing

So far in this series, we have discussed how to build a website visitors will want to stay on and how to drive those visitors to your CTAs. But how do you get people to visit your website in the first place?

In step 3 of this 4 part series, we will go over how you can drive more visitors to your website using Search Engine Optimization.

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Categories: Marketing

Regardless of whether your company is an online business or a brick & mortar local shop, having a website that converts is a key piece of your successful business plan.

In step 1 of this 4 part series, we discussed how to build out a website users would actually enjoy visiting. In step 2, let’s discuss how to put that website to work converting visitors into leads and buyers.

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Categories: Marketing

A website that converts plays an important role in every savvy business. Your company’s website could be your best source for potential clients. Many consumers will visit a company’s website before deciding whether to buy from them, even if the company is a brick and mortar business. For those websites that belong to online businesses, having an attractive website that converts visitors into leads is even more vital.

When visiting a website, consumers are looking for one of a few key things. They want to know more about the company, learn about the products they offer, and check if they are offering any promotions that can only be found on the website.

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Categories: Marketing

Some of you might think it’s a thing of the past, but believe us when we say that writing and distributing an alluring press release can do wonders for your business. However, it’s not as easy as one, two, three; you need to put some work into it to make sure that your release is focused and captivating.

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Categories: Social Media

Photos are one of the greatest tools we have at our disposal when making a brand-new website, blogging, and adding new life to a social media page. But many people fail to understand that there are laws and regulations governing how photos can and can’t be used. Typing your desired subject into a Google search and simply copying the images from Google isn’t exactly legal. To be specific, it isn’t legal at all.

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Categories: Marketing

It’s surprising how many brand-new companies that are just starting out on their entrepreneurial venture have so little knowledge of what a marketing plan really is. Dozens of questions seem to surface whenever discussing a marketing plan. What is it? Do you have to make one? What needs to be put in it? Before we can answer the first question, a dozen more will be asked.

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Categories: Email Marketing,Marketing

While the number of subscribers you have signed up for your newsletter can directly translate into more earnings for you, the harsh reality is that your subscriber list works best with quality subscribers rather than a huge quantity of unqualified subscribers. A few hundred good quality subscribers are worth infinitely more than even a thousand people who signed up for your newsletter just for the free stuff you have to offer.

So how do you get those quality subscribers? That’s exactly what we are here to help you with. Read on to see which of our ideas you can use to increase your newsletter subscriber list with some quality subs.

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Categories: Marketing

Communicating and gaining attention can be a bit harder for nonprofit organizations than it is for regular businesses. The reason is pretty simple: money. Generally, the marketing budget for nonprofit organizations is significantly lower than that of higher up brand names and businesses. This presents a conundrum for nonprofits, because in order to generate more attention you need to dedicate a decent amount of your budget, which will in turn increase your budget overall. But how do you do this when your customer base isn’t gaining anything out of giving your organization money?

The first and foremost thing you have to do is create a voice or a tone for your organization. Determine how you will approach your audience and what your key statement is. Depending on the primary focus of your nonprofit, you will determine if your tone needs to be serious and direct or more relaxed and laidback. Each category will generate a different tone, and you need to determine which tone you will use.

Once you have determined your voice, everything in your organization that has anything to do with marketing or communication has to have that specific tone. If it doesn’t, then your organization will seem lackluster and disjointed, which will result in catastrophic failure. Anyone who communicates on behalf of your brand needs to speak with your brand’s voice and message. Here are a few ways you can deliver that message and inspire your donors.

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Categories: Email Marketing

There are millions of emails that never get opened because of their poor subject lines. No matter how important or vital the content of your email is, if it doesn’t have a subject line captivating enough for the average user then your message will fall onto deaf ears.

Most of us are familiar with having dozens or even hundreds of unread emails in our inbox, but only some of them have been opened and checked to see what’s inside. Some of those emails even ended up in our spam folder and yet we still opened them to check out what the fuss is all about.

So why is it that we open some emails while letting others collect digital dust? The answer is very simple: we skim the subject line of that specific email and notice something interesting which causes us to open the email.

But what are these captivating subject lines? Which ones work and which ones don’t? Read on to find out how to increase the chances of your email being opened with these three subject line ideas.

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Categories: Marketing

Google Analytics is a fantastic source of information that can help you reach the levels of interaction you desire with your potential customers. However, reading and understanding data can sometimes be a headache, especially when we are talking about a rather complex system. While it can be slightly discouraging learning how to interpret the data which is presented by Google Analytics, we strongly suggest you take a few minutes and learn a bit about how Google Analytics works.

There are four major components when working with Google Analytics: data collection, configuration, processing, and reporting. All of these components work together to deliver the data you need in the most accurate and comprehensible way. Let’s take a look at each of these Google Analytics aspects separately.

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Categories: Marketing,Social Media

Using social media to grow your business has become a standard in the marketing world. Any business can benefit from reaching out to their customers on social media platforms. However, some of us have an odd tendency to only focus on one platform at a time. While it might be slightly more cost effective to dedicate those budget dollars towards one specific platform and focus on perfecting it, the reality is that ignoring other social media networks is a really bad idea.

Some social media sites offer a much bigger audience than others, but ignoring additional potential growth from other sites is a big mistake, especially when similar content can be utilized for nearly all platforms.

One such site to look out for is Snapchat. This social media platform has grown rapidly over the past few years. It is estimated that out of all social media users out there, about 23% of them are using Snapchat or at least have a valid Snapchat account.

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Categories: Marketing

When we need to look something up online, most of us turn straight to Google. This isn’t a random occurrence, and everyone knows it’s the established norm for searching for anything online. As of March 2016, Google is responsible for 67.7% of all global online searches. What does this mean for you? This means you have to carefully monitor everything that Google does regarding their search engine infrastructure and modify your SEO accordingly.

One such major change that Google introduced in April of 2015 was the implementation of a new algorithm which determined a website’s mobile “friendliness” and influenced its ranking amongst search results. This meant that if your website was mobile friendly, it got better scores and was more likely to show up higher in search results for people using a mobile device. Google recognized that the mobile revolution was underway and more users were starting to search and look things up with the use of their mobile devices like phones and tablets. So the response was simple, reward the sites which are optimized for mobile use with better rankings.

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Categories: Marketing

If your marketing checklist for 2017 looks identical to last year’s checklist, then I’m afraid I have to break some bad news to you…you are doing it wrong. The marketing world is a dynamic environment and it changes from year to year.

Your marketing plan should be unique in its own way every year. The reason is simple: people change and you should change how you approach your customers or clientele accordingly. Instead of having a list of things that you must get done, you need to gather a set of goals which you want to attain. Try the non-linear approach. Brainstorm, write your goals down, and connect the dots from your audience perspective.

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Categories: Email Marketing

No matter what your industry, email marketing can increase your sales and exposure exponentially during the holiday seasons. It is estimated that in 2015 nearly 20% of all online sales were made due to e-marketing. Whether you are looking to increase your total number of sales, get some extra donations, or simply increase the traffic to your store, email marketing can help you achieve all of these goals.

The key is to create a clearly identifiable email template that gets straight to the point without extra unnecessary information. Focus on producing a universal template tailored for the specific holiday and then customize it to fit your needs. Show off your unique products and services, announce holiday discounts, or capitalize on your company’s mission statement. Whichever you choose to focus on, make sure that the e-mail is catchy and precise. Here are a few ways you can use email marketing to boost your website visits and sales during the holidays.

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